2017 To-Read List

Much like the universe, my to-read list is infinite and ever-expanding. I have four libraries covered between home and school, but sometimes I still can’t get my mitts on every book I want to read. But below are the books I absolutely MUST read this year, come hell or high water.

  1. When the Moon Was Ours by Anna Marie McLemore

moon-was-ours-cover

This book looks beautiful and hauntingly magical, and I have been looking forward to reading it since before its release. My deeper agenda, however, is research for my current project (World Tree), because The Most Important Thing to do when writing diverse characters is to read books by diverse authors.

  1. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

treasure-island-cover

A classic I was never forced to read in school, and so I take the responsibility on myself. The truth is, Treasure Planet is one of my favorite movies in the world, so I feel like I should read the book it’s based on.

  1. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith

no1-ladies-cover

This one is just for fun, people. One of those books that’s always been on my periphery, I’ve known about it’s existence, but I’ve never seen it in person.

  1. The Head of the Saint by Socorro Acioli

head-of-the-saint-cover

A young boy with nowhere to go finds shelter in the abandoned head of a saint statue-and begins giving advice to the people he overhears pray to the saint. I have been trying to get my hands on this book for a year. This is the year I will make it happen. Mark my words.

  1. History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

history-cover

I heard Adam Silvera speak at Yallfest 2016 a few months ago and he was funny and made me want to read his books. This one comes out this month, so I’ll be looking out for it. It looks sad and hopeful, and I’ll probably be blogging about it, and all these others.

I’ll stop myself at five, but don’t get me wrong, I try to average a book a week. Mostly by browsing my library shelves and picking out the ones with pretty covers and shiny blurbs. I’ll review these ones as I finish them.

Happy reading!

 

1 thought on “2017 To-Read List”

Leave a Reply

