Charlottesville

This was going to be a second post about Ecuador or a first post about my new apartment (which is why it’s a day late, I was busy moving in), but these things seem absurdly trivial after the events in Charlottesville. The country, myself, and my friends are still reeling from the violence and the sheer insanity of the state of the nation. I cannot add anything valuable to the discourse at the moment–I’m still slightly in shock, trying to absorb the tilting state of our society, which seems to veer constantly from bad to worse. I can only say that white supremacy must be more than challenged–it must not even be allowed a voice. And that voice was denied on Sunday, after three deaths, over thirty injuries, and many, many wounded hearts. We can all only hope to be as brave as the counter-protesters who stood in the face of nazis yesterday and did not back down.

 

Leave a Reply

